Don’t go. stay.

Screen shot 2013-10-25 at 5.09.21 PM

Green means go.  The pie chart is green — all of it.  It’s hard to believe that I just signed up for my last semester of college classes.  I’ve been waiting for this moment for a few months, but now that it’s here I wish that time could stop.  That I could just soak up these last few weeks of being president of my sorority.  That I could engrain these memories into my thoughts because I know that after next semester, my whole life will change.  In our chapter, elections for incoming officers for the 2014 calendar year begin in November.  They consist of two weeks of heightened excitement and stress in anticipation for the next wave of leaders.  Lately I’ve found myself so enveloped in the thought of upcoming elections.  Who will be the next president? What will I do with my free time next semester?  Did I do enough?  I keep forgetting that my race isn’t over and that there’s still so much work to be done.  Lately I’ve just been missing the big picture.  As long as I fulfill my duties, lead chapter meetings, and show up on time, my job is done, right?  I remember last January when I was new to my term how much joy I experienced in my position because I allowed myself time to laugh a little and simply go along the experience.  It seems that I’m missing that now.  I’ve been more worried and focused about what I’m going to do and what I have to do than what I’m currently doing.  I think it’s time to change that, and I have six more weeks to do so.  That pie chart may be green, but that doesn’t mean I’m done yet.  Today, green means stay.  Stay in the moment,  enjoy the now, and leave the future for tomorrow.

xoxo,

B

4 thoughts on “Don’t go. stay.

  1. I know what you mean!!! I am finishing this spring as well and signed up for the few classes that I have to finish. There is a rush of emotions that I’m sure we all get, but whether we like it or not we are about to be graduates thrown to the wolves of the real world. Time to buckle up, it’s going to be an amazing ride!!! Cheers to the past, present, and our soon to be successful futures!!!

  2. I am in the same boat as you. I just signed up for my last semester of classes as well. I feel like I have been waiting for this moment for so long and while I feel so excited and relieved I am also so nervous for what is going to happen after graduation. I have to keep reminding myself to enjoy these last few months and embrace whatever comes next.

  3. I’m excited and a little jealous of you! (I still have a year and a half to go) I can only imagine what you are feeling right now, to actually be done. I agree with you though, about just taking everything in. The semester is going to go by so fast and once you’re done I’m sure you’re going to miss college a little bit. But congrats on only having a semester left!!

  4. I really enjoyed this post. It is not only really well written and I can hear your true voice, but this hits home for me. I graduate next semester and I can’t believe how fast time goes by. I can’t wait to start my new chapter to my life but I know I too will miss my college career. I wish the best of luck to you in your future.

Leave a comment